Auto FAQ

General Questions

What are your office hours?

The Jefferson County Automobile Department office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.

Can I pay for transactions processed at your office by credit/debit card?

Yes, there is a charge of 2.25%. You can renew license registration online at www.texas.gov.  Cash only payments are required for the purchase of a temporary permit.  These tags include the 30-Day, One Trip, 72-Hour and 144-Hour permits. Credit/Debit, Cash, checks and money orders are acceptable for all other transactions.

Where do I go to obtain my driver’s license or Texas ID?

If you need to obtain a Texas driver’s license or have questions about your driver’s license, you should contact your local Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) Office.  The telephone number to the DPS located in Beaumont is (409) 924-5400.

Can I transfer and license my boat & motor at the Tax Office?

The Jefferson County Tax Office does not process boat and motor transactions at this time.  To transfer a boat and motor or if you have questions about your boat and motor, you should contact your local Texas Parks and Wildlife Department located at 5655 Eastex Freeway, Suite A,  Beaumont, TX 77706.  The phone number is (409) 892-8666.  To download forms or for more information, visit the Texas Parks & Wildlife website.

I have purchased a vehicle in Texas. What paper work is necessary and what will it cost for tax, title, and license?

  1. Texas Title Application (130-U) signed by buyer and seller
  2. Texas Title signed by the buyer and seller
  3. Proof of liability insurance in the buyer’s name
  4. 6.25% Sales Tax based on the sales price if more than 80% of the Standard Presumptive Value.
  5. The purchaser must apply within 30 days from the date of sale to avoid a penalty.
  6. Current or unexpired ID/DL

I purchased a vehicle several months ago from a licensed motor vehicle dealer, and I have not received a title in my name. To what agency could I file a complaint?

Visit Texas Department of Motor Vehicle-Enforcement Division to file an online complaint TxDMV Dealer Enforcement

Motor Vehicle Title and Registration Questions

What do I need to register my vehicle in person or by mail?

You will need the following items to register your vehicle:

  1. Renewal notice sent to you by TxDMV.
  2. VIR.  You must have your vehicle inspected within 90 days of your registration expiration.
  3. Current proof of liability insurance on the vehicle you are registering.  Texas limits of liability are 30,000/60,000/25,000.
  4. When renewing without the current registration renewal notice, you will need to provide a current state issued ID for the registered owner.  If  you are not the registered owner, you will need a written statement from the owner authorizing issuance of registration as well as a copy of the owner’s state issued ID.
  5. Personal check (with a local address and phone number), cash, money order, or a credit/debit card.

Can I renew my registration at a neighborhood location?

To Renew at the Following credit unions you will need:

  • Three –part renewal notice
  • Registration cannot be more than 30 days expired
  • Current proof of insurance for the vehicle being renewed
  • Current, passing Vehicle Inspection Report (Effective March 1, 2016, this report must be no earlier than 90 days prior to the vehicle registration expiration.)
  • You must be a member of the credit union

Neches Federal Credit Union
1955 Dowlen Road
Beaumont, TX 77706
(409) 835-1471

Golden Triangle Federal Credit Union
5211 E. Parkway
Groves, TX 77619
(409) 962-3434

Neches Federal Credit Union
776 Magnolia
Port Neches, TX 77651
(409) 722-1174

Neches Federal Credit Union
2239 Nall Street
Port Neches, TX 77651
(409) 727-1639

Neches Federal Credit Union
2623 Nederland Avenue
Nederland, TX 77627
(409) 729-2831

CommonCents Credit Union
8109 Smith Road
Beaumont, TX 77713
(409) 842-5233

TO RENEW AT HEB AND KROGER YOU WILL NEED:

  • Three-part renewal notice
  • Registration cannot be more than 30 days expired
  • Current proof of insurance for the vehicle being renewed
  • Current, passing Vehicle Inspection Report  (Effective March 1, 2016, this report must be no earlier than 90 days prior to the vehicle registration expiration.)

HEB
3590 College St.
Beaumont, TX 77701
Mon-Sat 8 am-8 pm
Sun 10 am-6 pm

HEB
3025 Dowlen Rd.
Beaumont, TX 77706
Mon-Sat 8 am-8 pm
Sun 10 am-6 pm

HEB
4800 Hwy. 365
Port Arthur, TX 77642
Mon-Sat 8 am-8 pm
Sun 10 am-5 pm

Kroger
3965 Dowlen Rd.
Beaumont, TX 77706
Mon-Sun 8 am-8 pm

Kroger
3845 Phelan
Beaumont, TX 77707
Mon-Sun 8 am-8 pm

INSPECTION & REGISTRATION AVAILABLE AT  MID-COUNTY LUBE & AUTO REPAIR, LLC:  

  • Three-part renewal notice
  • Registration cannot be more than 30 days expired
  • Current proof of insurance for the vehicle being renewed
  • You must be a Jefferson County resident

Mid County Lube & Auto Repair LLC

5217 Twin City Hwy.
Port Arthur, TX  77642
Mon-Fri 8 am-5:30 pm
Sat          8 am-3:00 pm

I have sold my vehicle and do not want to come with the purchaser to transfer the title. What can I do to show that I have sold this vehicle?

Notification of the sale of your motor vehicle can be made by completing a Texas Motor Vehicle Transfer Notification (Form VTR-346).  This notification will not transfer the title, but it will place a remark on the motor vehicle record that the vehicle has been sold.

I have lost my original Texas Title.  How do I obtain a Certified copy?  https://www.txdmv.gov/motorists/buying-or-selling-a-vehicle/get-a-copy-of-your-title

I have lost my original Texas title, and the lienholder recorded on my title is no longer in business. What steps do I take to get a clear title in my name?

If a lien has been recorded on a Texas title for ten (10) years or more and if it is impossible to locate the lienholder to obtain a release, a statement of fact must be executed by the registered owner (person to whom the title was issued) stating, “The lien has been paid.  The lien holder is no longer in business and cannot be located.” The Statement of Fact must support an application for corrected title filed in the name of the registered owner to clear the lien.  A record of ownership must be established in the registered owner’s name indicating that the lien recorded is at least ten (10) years old before the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles will issue title.  The Statement of Fact is available in our office.

For Our Troops

https://www.txdmv.gov/motorists/for-our-troops